Three National Scholastic Art Winners!

More than 110,000 students submitted nearly 320,000 works of art and writing to 2020 Scholastic Awards. The work of St. Michael- Albertville High School students of  Natalia F., Ava M., and Jade R. were selected by some of the foremost leaders in the visual and literary arts for excellence in originality, technical skill, and the emergence of a personal voice or vision. Only 3,000 works received a National Medal, which places your student(s) within the top 1% of all submissions! Since 1923, the Awards have celebrated teen artists and writers from across the country. Our student(s) are now part of that legacy, joining the ranks of notable alumni, including Tschabalala Self, Stephen King, Kay WalkingStick, Charles White, Joyce Carol Oates, and Andy Warhol—all of whom won Scholastic Awards when they were teens.  

STMA Receives the most Scholastic Art Awards in Minnesota!

STMA once again received the most Scholastic Art awards in the state of Minnesota! There were 135 awards for 67 different STMA high school students. Again, this year is extra special because STMA students Esma and Sydney received American Vision Nominations! There are only five American Vision nominations awarded in the state of Minnesota, from across all categories and grades. They are selected from those earning Gold Keys as the “Best-of-Show” for each regional program and will go on to the national awards competition as nominees for the American Vision. There were over 3000 entries for the Scholastic program from across the state and to have 2 of the 5 nominees from our school is a major accomplishment! 

You might wonder what are the Minnesota Scholastic Art Awards? The Minnesota Scholastic Art Awards program (MSAA) is a statewide regional affiliation of the national Scholastic Art Awards program. The MSAA offers early recognition of creative teenagers and scholarship opportunities for graduating high school seniors.

This program is open to all Minnesota students in grades 7-12. Student entries can be submitted by teachers and individual students. The MSAA winners are celebrated with an exhibition and ceremony hosted by the Art Educators of Minnesota (AEM) and the University of Minnesota Art Department and the Weisman Art Museum.

Spot light on Art Education Award!

 Seniors, Joshua E., Emily M., and Veronica J. have been selected for the : 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Place Winners (consecutively) for the spot light on Art Education contest..  The Art Education of Minnesota Board selected these students based on their essays, outstanding credentials and art work. Congratulations to Joshua, Emily, Veronica and Ms. Halker-Saathoff for nominating ALL of them for this significant recognition award.

The purpose of this award is to acknowledge graduating seniors who have demonstrated a high level of artistic, academic, leadership and interpersonal relationship skills. This award is intended to encourage recipients to pursue a career in visual art education. The selection of Joshua, Emily and Veronica to receive this award is also predicated on their instructor’s opinion that she has what it takes to be a qualified visual art instructor.

They each will receive a signed certificate from which copies may be used to serve as an accompanying recommendation with various applications for admission to any post-secondary art education program. The prizes they will also receive are: 1st Place- 200.00; 2nd Place-100.00; 3rd Place– 75.00 gift card for art supplies available through Triarco Art Supplies Catalog. As the 1st Place Winner, Joshua E. and Mrs. Halker are invited to attend and be our honorary guests at our next annual fall conference on November 2019. 


The Central Minnesota Arts Board (CMAB) awarded Arts Scholarships

We have more exciting news from the High School Visual Arts Department!

At the April 11, 2019 meeting, The Central Minnesota Arts Board (CMAB) awarded Arts Scholarships to sixteen students totaling $24,000.  Six of the sixteen Art scholarships were awarded to  STMA Visual Art students!

The Student Arts Scholarship Program is designed to support individuals entering or enrolled in an accredited institution and who are pursuing undergraduate degrees in the arts. Applicants are eligible to receive up to four Student Arts Scholarships in a lifetime.

A panel of volunteer artists, arts professionals and educators evaluate each applicant according to established criteria. The CMAB directors received the recommendation from the panel and awarded funding to applicants that scored the highest.

 Current Graduates:

St. Michael, MN
$1,500 Student Arts Scholarship
Medical Illustration at 
Moorhead State University, Moorhead, MN

St. Michael, MN
$1,500 Student Art Scholarship 
BFA in Interior Design at
University of Wisconsin-Stout, Menomonie, WI

St. Michael, MN 
$1,500 Student Arts Scholarship

Product Design at the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN

Former Graduates:

St. Michael, MN
$1,500 Student Art Scholarship Game Design and Development at University of Wisconsin-Stout, Menomonie, WI

St. Michael, MN
$1,500 Student Arts Scholarship Fine Arts at University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN

St. Michael, MN
$1,500 Student Arts Scholarship
Fine Arts and Theater at Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, MN